Curtain calls

Yesterday’s post was sort of about my boyband chasing days. This night’s post is amusingly about my OPM phase.

 

Senior year in HS till I left, OPM bands have been making quite the scene back home. There’s always that next big thing coming out with some great song that you like the first few times you hear it but then they start playing them in really cheesy local stations and some cheesy TV show uses it in one of their episodes or some guy beside you on the way home ruins the essence of that song for you. I have a couple of those songs.

 

This was also about the same time that i seriously picked up a guitar and started teaching myself how to play. I never got good though. i knew the basics but i never had the rhythm to actually play a song properly.

 

My song tonight reminds me of this one night in HS when a LOT of up-and-coming bands came to my school and played one kick ass show. I was part of crowd control and i got most of the backstage action and it was a heck of an experience trying to play a roadie. The big ticket that night was Rivermaya. Of course, i was not as psyched as i should have been because Bamboo has long left the band and i wasnt as big of a Rico Blanco fan as much as i thought the world of Bamboo. I still wished they had played this song, though. It would have been a hoot hearing this song played live with someone in the same room.

***

 

Am I real? Do the words I speak before you make you feel
That the love I’ve lay for you will see no ending?
Well if you look into my eyes then you should know
That there’s nothing here to doubt nothing to fear
And you can lay your questions down ’cause if you’ll hold me
we can fade into the night and you’ll know

The world could die and everything may lie
Still you shan’t cry. ‘Cause time may pass
But longer than it’ll last I’ll be by your side

Take my hand And gently close your eyes so you could understand
That there’s no greater love tonight than what I’ve for you
Well if you feel the same way for me then let go
We can journey to a garden no one knows
Life is short my darling tell me that you love me
So we can fade into the night and you’ll know

The world could die and everything may lie 
Still you shan’t cry ’cause time may pass
And everything won’t last but I’ll be by your side
Forever by your side.

***

 

“Everybody ready in three!”

 

The final  through the closed curtains as everyone tried to find their place. Each person looked like the next one as I tried to check if anyone who needs to be somewhere is actually there.

 

“Kate! Jordyn! Matt! Ready for center stage, please!” I called amongst the crowd. “Tracy, make sure that after Devin’s scene we have him ready for curtain call this time.” I gave instructions to the gawky girl across the stage. She fumbled with her earphone battery pack, which flew out of her hands, and as she nervously crouched to pick it up, nodded at me and disappeared backstage.

One response to “Curtain calls

  1. The drabble reminded me of Senior Year, when the Drama elective presented their plays. I know I wasn’t part of it but knowing that you were made me remember.

    Fun days. I loved the plays you guys presented then. 😀

Leave a comment